عمر سمرة

عمر سمرة, كبير قبيلة الجوانابانا ومؤسس الشركة

هذا يعني أنني مسؤول عن الرؤية والإستراتيجية وتطوير المنتجات والعلاقات العامة وإدارة العلاقات مع الشركات المماثلة.

القصة الكاملة:

إسمي عمر سمرة, تركت العمل في وظائف غير ملهمة وبدأت في تأسيس شركات وسط الأزمة الإقتصادية وأسميت الشركات على أسم فواكه إستوائية.

أتخصص أيضا في حمل نفسي وأمتعتي الثقيلة الى مواقع مرتفعة شديدة البرودة. حينما لا أكونفي مكتبي أعمل لإثني عشر ساعة متواصلة ستجدني على قمة أحد الجبال أو متسلقا لتل مغطى بالثلوج مبهر أو مستمتعا بوقتي مع القبائل المحلية في بابوا الغربية. في وقت العمل ألعب رياضة تنس الطاولة والفوزبول أو تصميم رحلات ممتعة تأخذك الى أكثر الأماكن إلهاما في العالم صممت خصيصا للباحثين عن الإختلاف.

بعد تخرجي من الجامعة الأمريكية في القاهرة بدرجة في الإقتصاد, انتقلت الى لندن ومنها الى هونج كونج لمشوار عمل في مجال البنوك الإستثمارية مع بنك HSBC. كان العمل مسليا ومليء بالتحديات ولكنني أدركت سريعا أن بالحياة أكثر من الجلوس على مكتب لنحو 15 ساعة يوميا. تحدثت مع أحد الأصدقاء الأعزاء الذي أوحى الي بفكرة ملهمة وهي شراء دراجة أتجول بها في الأندلس بمفردي لمدة أسبوعين. دفعتني هذه التجربة لأدراك مدى حبي للسفر وإستكشاف العالم وإيجاد حدود قدراتي. تغير العالم بالنسبة لي من لحظتها.

إزداد عزمي على إعادة التجربة فبدأت التخطيط لرحلة أطول أوسع نطاقا وفي ديسمبر 2002 بدأت في رحلة عبر اسيا وأمريكا اللاتينية لمدة 370 يوما زرت خلالها 14 دولة. كانت أروع سنوات حياتي والتي أوحت لي بأفكار أكثر للمزيد من الرحلات والإستكشافات المستقبلية خاصة رحلات التسلق التي كانت من أكبر أحلامي منذ تسلقت أول جبل في حياتي في سويسرا في عمر السادسة عشر. عدت للعمل البنكي لمدة سنتين و حصلت على شهادة MBA من كلية الأعمال بلندن في تخصص ريادة الأعمال ثم توجهت لتحقيق أحد أحلام طفولتي وفي يوم 17 مايو 2007 أصبحت أول مصري وأصغر عربي يتسلق جبل أفرست على ارتفاع 8850 مترا. بعد قمة افرست وحتى بدايات عام 2009 عملت لشركة أكتيس ACTIS وهي شركة رائدة في مجال الأسواق الناشئة تعلمت فيها على يد كبار روساء مجالس الإدارة ما أحتاجه لإدارة عمل خارق للعادة في مجال الخدمات.

 بعدها بعامين في شهر 2009, في وسط أحد أسوأ الأزمات المالية التي شهدها العالم, كنت أتسلق أحد الجبال في قلب الغابة في بابوا الغربية قررت أن استسلم لحبي للسفر والإستكشاف وأضمه الى خبراتي العملية, وعلى عكس نصائح الأخرين في حياتي عدت من الأجازة وقدمت إستقالتي وبدأت هذه الرحلة الرائعة.

أمضيت أكثر من ثلاث سنوات زرت خلالها 80 دولة وأكثر من 200 وجهة خلابة. لم إشبع فضولي بعد وهذا هو ما يجعل السفر شيئا لا يمكن الإستغناء عنه في حياته. كنت دوما مهتما بمشاركة هذه التجارب من خلال الكتابة والتصوير والتحدث في المناسبات. ولكنني وجدت انه لا توجد طريقة أفضل لتقديم هذه التجارب للأخرين من تسهيل قيامهم شخصيا بهذه الرحلات. أجد في هذا متعة وفرحة شخصية لا تتكرر ومن هنا ولدت وايلد جوانابانا.

للمزيد عني قم بزيارة: www.omarsamra.com

×
×

Omar Samra

Omar Samra, Chief Guanabana | Founder & CEO

--> this means I'm responsible for vision, strategy, product development, PR and B2B account management.

Here for the full story:

My name is Omar Samra, I quit uninspiring jobs and start companies during financial crisis' and name them after exotic fruits. I also specialize in dragging myself and heavy objects to high and cold places. When I'm not working 12 hours a day, I'm on a mountain somewhere, climbing something snowy and stunning or hanging out with the remote tribes of West Papua. When I'm working, I'm playing ping pong, foozball or designing some of the funnest journeys to the world's most inspiring places for anyone out there looking for the extraordinary!

After graduating with a degree in Economics from the American University in Cairo, I moved to London then Hong Kong to pursue an investment banking career with HSBC. It was interesting and challenging work but quickly I began to realize there is more to life than sitting behind a desk for 15 hours each day. Talks with a dear friend inspired me to purchase a bicycle and travel around Spanish Andalusia alone for 2 weeks. The experience made me realize how passionate I am about travel, exploring the world and my own personal boundaries. My life was never the same again.

Adamant to repeat the experience, I began planning for a longer, more involved trip and in December of 2002 I embarked on a 370-day journey across Asia and Latin America, visiting 14 countries. It was undoubtedly the most incredible year of my life and sparked many future trips and expeditions, especially mountaineering ones which had been one of my biggest fantasies since I climbed my first mountain in Switzerland at the age of 16. After returning to the bank for a couple of years and earning an MBA from London Business School in Entrepreneurship, I set out to fulfill another of my childhood dreams and on the 17th of May 2007, I succeeded in becoming the first Egyptian and youngest Arab to summit 8,850m Mount Everest. Post Everest and until early 2009, I worked for Actis, a leading emerging markets Private Equity fund learning first hand from top CEOs what it takes to run an extraordinary service business.

Two years later in May of 2009, at the heigh of worst financial crisis the world has ever seen, as I was climbing a mountain in the depth of the West Papuan jungle, I decided to finally marry my passion for travel, exploring and sharing the experience with my career. Against the advice of many, I returned from holiday, handed in my resignation and began this beautiful journey.

I have spent over 3 years on the road, visiting over 80 countries and over 200 destinations. My curiosity still knows no bounds and that makes traveling something I cannot live without. I have always been passionate about sharing those experiences through my writing, photography and speaking. However, what better way to do so than facilitate the means for people to embark on fascinating, truly unique journey’s of their own. I find this a true joy and that is why WILD GUANABANA was born.

There's more here: www.omarsamra.com.

×
×